Silence

Where was the sound?

I could hear it loud

Yet it seemed silent

I know not how

It was the sound of the mind

The chatter in the mind

at times it felt like birds chirping

at times it felt like waves lashing

The sound went on and on

Silence …how would it be?

Was it no sound? utter stillness?

Did silence have no sound?

Then I would  have to see it

and surely could not hear it

how would it be?

would it be dark or light?

Who then would see the silence

In the stillness, in the darkness

How could silence be seen?

Who saw when the eyes closed

Who heard when the ears were shut

There was an “I” other than this body

infinite and one, that was the “I”

With no you, only an “I”

Who saw who heard who spoke

It was this “I” and none other

Where was this “I” did I know

Not until I existed would I know

the “I” untouched…unseen…yet…

The eternal one…

One thought on “Silence

Leave a Reply

