Love…a duty????

Love is a pure emotion…its unconditional…its just there…

I agree that love is a pure emotion. Yet how does it become unconditional?

If its love…its true…its unconditional. Where there is any condition or expectation, it is not love…it is possession. With our own parents, our kids, our relations and even our own body we have conditions and expectations. Total acceptance is lacking. So it cannot be love. It is understood as love, but it is not love.

Well that sounds very harsh and kind of false. To believe that I do not love my own parents, my brother/sister, my kids who are so much mine is really heart breaking. Somehow I cannot believe it. I do love them.

You think you love them. Love has no conditions. Its unconditional acceptance without any expectations.

But what if someone is erring? Someone is on the wrong route? Is it not my duty to guide them, as I expect good for them? How can this be explained?

It is still not love. As soon as you say the other is on the wrong path, you are judging them by your parameter. Who are you to judge anyone, even if you feel you own them/possess them? Also duty and love are two opposites. Where the word duty comes, love disappears.

Duty is important for me. I have always fulfilled my duties. That is because I love those people. I do my duty towards my body by exercising, eating right and taking care of it. I take care of the ones I love and so I am doing my duty correctly. How can love disappear when duty appears?

Duty and love can never co-exist. Where there is love, actions happen. There is no duty or rule attached. It is just like a bud that blooms into a flower. Does the bud do its duty in blossoming into a flower? Is it not natural? When we judge anything or anyone, we are nowhere near love. Love is simply accepting…love is simply loving…not for a reason, not for anything!

Well we do love others for some reason or the other. Like I love my parents because they gave birth to me, they took care of me, they loved me…same goes with everyone I love. If love is simply loving without reason, then probably we do not love anyone at all…even this body. As when my body does not function perfectly, I hate it. I get angry on my body for not responding to the care I give.

See now you have answered your own question. Where there is expectation, love cannot exist. We have always understood like and dislike, happiness and sadness…its all duality. Two sides of the same coin. Love is not opposite of hatred. Yet we have been taught like this for years. Love is eternal…If you hate someone, how can love be there? what you think is hate, is nothing but dislike. Love is pure…its complete…it has no two sides…its not one side of a coin…its the entire coin.

Somehow this is so difficult to accept. Don’t I love my body? I worry about it, I take care of it…I believe I love it. Yet I have not accepted my body the way it is. I have not accepted everyone the way they are. I have expectations from all. So many conditions…how can this be love? Feeling unconditional love even for my own body is so difficult…how then can I feel unconditional love for others? Everything is based on conditions…It is really depressing…the very fact that I have never felt love…all this while I had felt it was love…now what should I do?

Drop the conditions…drop the conditioning…drop the expectations…Just accept unconditionally…accept your body the way it is, accept everyone the way they are. Why expect anything from anyone? It is like asking a rosebud to flower into a lotus because you feel lotus is better than rose! Rosebud will flower into a rose…each bud will blossom as per its nature…we cannot interfere with nature…interference is like trampling someone. When you tell an orange that it is not as crisp as an apple…are you not expecting something out of its very nature? Complete acceptance is love…

How do I learn to accept everything the way it is and everyone the way they are?

Accept yourself the way you are…totally…the rest will happen…same goes with love…when you love yourself totally, the way you are…you can love others the way they are…

It is not easy to accept myself or others…

It is not difficult either…look at the sky, the clouds, the flowers…all are in tune with each other…they are not fighting, they are not expecting anything from each other. They are in complete synchronicity…

Very true! Why then as humans, we are not like that? Why is there expectations, anger, non-acceptance? Yet all the time, it is we who speak of love…

Very strange, yet true…we speak of love though, love is our very nature…to understand more about this, we will meet soon.

One thought on “Love…a duty????

  1. Wow! Your Blog Page is really inspiring! To be able to come up with these ideas and emotions is truly amazing. What I love about this community are the endless creativity and the pure honesty of its members. I am really proud to be a part of this, to not be afraid to be myself. I am looking forward to more of your posts. I hope you can follow my Blog as well. Have a great day ahead. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

