Pencil and eraser!

A conversation between a pencil and and eraser !!!

Pencil : I am sorry

Eraser: For what? You didn’t do anything wrong.

Pencil: I am sorry  you get hurt because of me.  Whenever I make a mistake you are always there to erase it. But as you make my mistakes vanish, you lose a part of yourself and get smaller and smaller each time.

Eraser: That’s true, but I don’t really mind. You see, I was made to do this, I was made to help you whenever you do something wrong, even though one day I know I’ll be gone. I’m actually happy with my job. So please stop worrying I hate to see you sad.

“Our parents are like the eraser, whereas we children are the pencil. They are always there for their children cleaning up their mistakes. Sometimes along the way they get hurt and become smaller (older and eventually pass on) .Take care of your parents, treat them with kindness and most especially love them.”

Now the conversation and the message thereafter really made me think a lot.

As a parent today, I am a pencil and an eraser!!

Now each one of you reading this may or may not be yet an eraser but surely we all are pencils.

So the role of the pencil I understood is much more difficult than that of an eraser. The pencil has to keep writing the perfect script and try avoiding the use of the eraser to keep the script clean and tidy.

The eraser keeps saying ,” How much you use me? Why do you need me so much. Why can’t you manage on your own? How long can I be there for you? “

It means we try to keep our life as accurate as possible. In this we sharpen ourselves and reduce in size. The sharpening causes a lot of pain. The sharpner here is the fate that gives us a lot of challenges. We also call it the mender!

So bearing the pain and avoiding the use of the eraser we make our life as perfect as possible.

There are chances that the eraser is used less and many a times the pencil is finished and the eraser is maybe only half used!!!

The pencil in the story is so humble and is apologizing for no wrong done. So the pencil is humble and kind. We too must have these qualities.

The whole point ( no pun intended- as in point of the pencil) here is to focus on the point! Everything else is grazed off. Soon the tip or the point vanishes too. This just means that this journey of this life is over. The essence or the soul remains. It is what we wrote while we were that pencil that will matter.

Whether it is a pencil or an eraser everyone must leave one day. So play your role to perfection and never feel that I am superior or inferior. WE all are special in our own way.

The message at the end that states that we must respect our parents is right. We must not only respect our parents but also all our elders ( teachers, friends, relations etc. ) who have played a role in mending us, erasing for us and guiding us.

Respect and love must be our very nature, whether we are an eraser or not – as surely we all are a pencil.

Also today if we feel we are strongly playing the role of an eraser, let us also think back how good a pencil we were and we are.

As eventually it is our own journey. So focus on being humble, kind and loving and not get caught up in pencils, erasers and menders.

The more we expect from others, the sorrow becomes insurmountable.  So let go…and learn to give…

Also take a little time from your busy day and think ” Am I a good pencil? Am I playing my role well? Am I humble, kind and loving to all? Am I expecting anything from anyone? Am I progressing on this journey in proper speed. Do I remember all the time that finally this body of a pencil is temporary and that the sooner I realise it I will be free of it?”

As I am playing a dual role today I understand both the roles quite well. There is no bias in the above musing of mine…

The point I have hit is “Do not forget who you are and stop wallowing in sorrows growing out of expectations of love and kindness. Learn to give…learn to let go…”

Leave a Reply

