Will I read the Bhagavad Gita?

In my last post I had written that I plan to read the Gita.

Most of the people I know have always said that they have either read the Bhagavad Gita or intend to read it. The ones intending to read it would also add that they never could make time to read the Holy Scripture.

Well, I did not have any such excuse. Somewhere in the deep recesses of my mind I always felt like reading the book that everyone spoke so much about. People who have read the Gita never actually explain the contents. It is always “You must read it, it will help you” Not a very appealing statement.

Every time I have been to the book store I have passed by the religious/philosophy section and looked at the Bhagavad Gita adoringly. At times I have even picked up the book and kept it in the basket. But eventually the sale at the fiction section would pull me with full force.

And while waiting at the billing queue with a load full of fiction novels and magazines I would open the Bhagavad Gita and stare at the Sanskrit verses translated in English and the purport below. Will I read this book? Simply why buy it when I know I won’t read it.

Eventually I would return the book at the counter smiling sheepishly saying that ‘I will be buying it next time…

I would then give explanations to myself as to the size of the book and why I didn’t buy it. ‘Seven hundred pages odd book with so many complicated verses…Now how was all that going to help me?’

So well, I still have to buy the book and read it…

Leave a Reply

