Srimad Bhagavad Gita

While I kept on procrastinating my plan to buy the Bhagavad Gita, I eventually saw the book at Mom’s house. She had purchased it. Wow! Not read it though!

I almost picked it up to read it and then kept it back on the shelf realising I had some other urgent chores to attend to. The next day I actually read some of the pages, probably two or three pages after which I couldn’t help feeling the weight of the book on my hand and decided to read it later.

But the ‘later’ never came and I took leave of mom and returned home (obviously without the Gita).

So the Gita kept evading me or rather I should say I kept evading the Gita. I didn’t realise that this holy book had all the knowledge in the world. Instead, I went on a buying spree and purchased a whole lot of inspirational and motivational books.

Well finally, after reading several motivational books I thought maybe it was time I read the original Bhagavad Gita – As it is.

And then I heard from one of my friends that she was reading the Srimad Bhagavad by Shri Dongre Maharaj ( in Gujarati) and that it was simply beautiful. I was quite impressed as she told me that it was a book which explained a lot about life in the form of stories. She said all the ancient stories were compiled in the book. That inspired me. Stories! I was bent on reading it now.

My friend had a regional version of the book in a language I couldn’t read. I was getting desperate to read the book as my desire to read the Bhagavad would be completed and it wouldn’t be tiresome as the Srimad Bhagavad had many stories in it. I love reading the ancient stories of all the kings and their lives.

And soon enough my quest for reading the Srimad Bhagavad was to be completed. Another friend of mine said that someone had gifted her the book and it was in English. She also added that she was currently busy with some relatives and wouldn’t be reading the book anytime soon.

She said I was most welcome to visit her and borrow the book. What more could I have asked for?

‘Srimad Bhagavad in English’ – I hoped it would be the exact translation of the Gujarati version of the book that my other friend was reading…

Finally I was going to read the Gita – the Srimad Bhagavad…

2 thoughts on “Srimad Bhagavad Gita

  1. You will find some fascinating points on this post but I do not know if I see all of them center to heart. There could possibly be some validity but I’ll get hold a viewpoint until I search into it even more. Excellent write-up , thanks and we’d like a lot more! Extra to FeedBurner also.

Leave a Reply

