‘Read the Bhagavad Gita’

“Read the Bhagavad Gita” – I had heard this many times.

“Read at least a few pages a day” – many advice their daughters and daughter-in-laws.

The Bhagavad Gita has always intrigued me. I have seen the sacred book kept in puja rooms of most houses I have visited. Almost every house owns a copy of the Bhagavad Gita. How many read it or even understand it after reading the whole book is something I always wonder…

I always feel like reading the sacred book. I know about the Mahabharata and that the Gita has all the advice given by Lord Krishna to Arjun on the battlefield. I know this. So what was it that Sri Krishna told Arjun that we would read and implement in our daily lives?

It was a war between brothers on a battlefield in Kurukshetra. So my mind says that ‘who wants to read about the battle’- obviously the advice would be about how to fight the battle. In what way is it going to help me or many other people who are planning to read it? We are not fighting a battle. We are just leading a complicated life with complicated issues. So are we fighting a battle too? Not exactly with bow and arrows, mace etc… But still there seems to be a battle in our lives. A battle of a different kind I would say. There is a battle going on in every house, every family. The severity of the battle differs though…

Are we all Kauravas and Pandavas fighting the battle of life on a daily basis? The battle to survive in this world which is the Kurukshetra? The battlefield?

Should I read it? Well, I finally decided on reading it. But I had to first buy the book!

More about my spiritual musings on the Bhagavad Gita in my next post…

Leave a Reply

